“Fighting for the Lord” Recording Sessions

At the end of February 2015, the New York Staff Band (Bandmaster Ronald Waiksnoris) completed a recording which will be used for their 2015 tour of the United Kingdom and the Boundless Congress. The Staff Band was privileged to be able to use the chapel at the College for Officer Training in Suffern, New York, which provided a wonderful space for the recording sessions.

The recording features a wide variety of items, including six that are recorded for the first time. Highlighting this set of new pieces is Americana (Martin Cordner), specifically written for the 2015 tour. Other new items include Fortress (Harold Burgmayer) and Whatever It May Cost (Dorothy Gates).

Another new item recorded is a wonderful arrangement by Peter Graham of Bruce Broughton’s song, Alone Yet Not Alone. Special recognition goes to Adam Fyn for some fabulous playing on a very exposed baritone part.

Two solo items are featured on the recording. Principal cornet Gordon Ward played Erik Leidzén’s classic solo Tucker. Joining Gordon as soloists on the album are his two sons, Chris and Tim Ward, who are featured in another new item, Dorothy Gates’ arrangement of Gabriel’s Oboe for soprano cornet and tenor horn.

In addition to the new pieces, several old classics are also included. These include two items from the pen of Eric Ball, The Kingdom Triumphant and Songs of the Valiant. Another old classic is the title track, Fighting for the Lord (Emil Söderström).

The engineer for the recording was Ted Marshall, who began handling engineering for the Staff Band 33 years ago. Joining Marshall in the recording booth was Dr. Ronald Holz. Dr. Holz has a long relationship with the band, writing and capturing the band’s history, and guided the recording quite well.

The recording is planned for release in June 2015. The complete track list is as follows (alphabetical order):

  • Alone Yet Not Alone (Bruce Brougton, arr. Peter Graham)
  • Americana (Martin Cordner)
  • Crown of Conquest (Ray Steadman-Allen)
  • Evening Hymn (Ray Steadman-Allen)
  • Fighting for the Lord (Emil Söderström)
  • Fortress (Harold Burgmayer)
  • Gabriel’s Oboe (arr. Dorothy Gates)
  • Phoenix (Peter Graham)
  • Songs of the Valiant (Eric Ball)
  • Stars & Stripes (Dorothy Gates)
  • Tucker (Erik Leidzén)
  • Whatever It May Cost (Dorothy Gates)
  • The Kingdom Triumphant (Eric Ball)

New York Staff Band web site