Recording Sessions for North York Temple

The North York Temple Band (Bandmaster Glenn Barlow) recorded tracks for its new recording, entitled Eternal Life, at the Toronto Centre for the Arts on 9 – 11 February 2012.

This is the first in a series of recordings which will feature all new Salvation Army brass band works composed by writers from across the Canadian and United Kingdom territories. The project aims to promote Salvationist composers and encourage other writers to submit works to the band for future releases. Bandmaster Barlow explains, “We felt there were enough bands recording works that have been heard often, and there was a need to champion young (and not so young) composers with the Army to write fresh works for the greater Army world to enjoy. This first of many CDs really captures this well and there will be something for everyone to enjoy.”

The title track, Eternal Life, is a new tour de force cornet solo written by composer Marcus Venables (who is also North York Temple Band’s soprano cornet player) for his father, professional trumpeter Robert Venables. It is a thrilling and challenging new work that features all original material, based on a hymn tune penned by Marcus’s brother, Brindley Venables.

The recording, Eternal Life, is scheduled for an Easter release.


  • Christ the Lord (Marcus Venables) – Festival Prelude
  • Battle Call (Martin Cordner) – Tone Poem
  • Eternal Life (Marcus Venables) – Cornet Solo, Robert Venables
  • Sleep (Andrew Poirier) – Transcription
  • Validus Deus (Dean Jones) – Tone Poem
  • Guardian of My Soul (Darren Shaw) – Meditation
  • Amazing Grace (Martin Cordner) – Prelude
  • The Warrior Covenant (Nicholas Samuel) – Selection
  • Hyfrydol (Nicholas Samuel) – Hymn Tune Arrangement
  • I’ll Fight (Marcus Venables) – Trombone Solo, Barrington Venables
  • On Course (Norman Bearcroft) – Euphonium Solo, Mark Hall
  • I Surrender (Marcus Venables) – Tone Poem
  • To the Glory and Praise (Robert Redhead) – Benediction

North York Temple Band web site