Perihelion: Closer to the Sun

Cory Band

World of Brass
Price: £13.95 including VAT at 20%.  ORDER HERE

This album features the fantastic music of Philip Sparke. Cory Band performed Perihelion as its own choice test piece in the European Brass Band Championships in Oslo in May 2013, the brand new work helping Cory to become European Brass Band Champions again. The CD also includes two amazing solo performances, by Helen Williams (guest fl¨gelhorn soloist for this album and for the band’s Australian tour) and Matthew White, principal euphonium who performs the Diamond Concerto.

1 Marcho Brioso (Philip Sparke)   3:40
2 A Bandsman’s Overture (Philip Sparke)   6:01
3 Moon Song, Sun Dance (Philip Sparke) Helen Williams, flügelhorn 8:40
4 Evolution – Five States of Change (Philip Sparke)   11:09
5 Music from Tombstone (Bruce Broughton, arr. Philip Sparke)   5:04
6 Fanfare and Celebration (Philip Sparke)   6:13
  Diamond Concerto (Philip Sparke) Matthew White, euphonium  
7       I. Earth Star   5:23
8       II. Ocean Dream   6:58
9       III. Blue Heart   4:13
10 Perihelion: Closer to the Sun (Philip Sparke)   19:15